University of Southern California

USC School of Dramatic Arts

The USC School of Dramatic Arts produced two dozen shows in 2013-2014, including classics like Oscar Wilde’s “Lady Windermere’s Fan” and modern tales like Suzan Lori-Parks’ “In the Blood.” Here Kimberli Flores (MFA 2015) portrays a young woman with a dubious past in “The Time of Your Life,” the Pulitzer Prize-winning drama by William Saroyan which centers on the good-hearted patron of a San Francisco dive bar as he encourages the colorful denizens that drift through the rundown saloon. Photo by Craig Schwartz.

One of the premier dramatic arts schools in the United States, the USC School of Dramatic Arts provides the necessary education and training for graduates to excel in the professional arts and related fields, which offers an ideal foundation to a liberal education that prepares students for a wide range of career interests. The school promotes and supports innovative and flexible ways to achieve students’ educational and professional goals.

The dramatic arts are both a collaborative endeavor and a universal means of communication. The school educates students in the history of theatre, while preparing them to add to that history, to use their talents, skill and imagination to explore the limitless possibilities the dramatic arts offer.

The USC School of Dramatic Arts is significantly enhanced by its location in Los Angeles, the entertainment capital of the world. Visiting guest artists frequently teach seminars, mentor students and participate in School of Dramatic Arts productions.

Graduates of the school work professionally in all aspects of the entertainment industry. The school’s performance and design faculty are dynamic teachers who are also artists working at the highest level of their profession.

The breadth of learning opportunities offered at the school prepares students for the spectrum of careers in the dramatic arts, including performance, production, design, sound design, management and teaching. The School of Dramatic Arts also strives to instill confidence, integrity, excellence and artistic sensitivity into each of its students — traits that are essential to success in any field.

Drama Center 104
(213) 740-1286
FAX: (213) 740-8888


Madeline Puzo, Dean

David Bridel, Associate Dean

Sharon M. Carnicke, Ph.D., Associate Dean

Velina Hasu Houston, Ph.D., Associate Dean


Professors: Sharon M. Carnicke, Ph.D.; Velina Hasu Houston, Ph.D.

Associate Professors: Meiling Cheng, DFA; Oliver Mayer, MFA

Assistant Professors: Luis Alfaro; Takeshi Kata, MFA; Tom Ontiveros, MFA; Sibyl Wickersheimer, MFA

Professors of Theatre Practice: Andrei Belgrader, MFA; Natsuko Ohama; Andrew J. Robinson

Associate Professors of Theatre Practice: Paul Backer, Ph.D.; Brent Blair, Ph.D.; David Bridel; Elsbeth M. Collins; Anita Dashiell-Sparks, MFA; Christina Haatainen-Jones; Joseph Hacker, MFA; Duncan Mahoney; Mary-Joan Negro; Louie Piday, MFA; Jack R. Rowe; Stephanie Shroyer, MFA; Eric Trules

Assistant Professors of Theatre Practice: Philip G. Allen; John De Mita, MFA; Randy Mell; David Warshofsky, MFA

Adjunct/Part-Time Faculty of Theatre Practice: Tony Abatemarco; Rob Adler; Michael Arabian; Patricia Bahia, M.M.; Robert Bailey; Corbett Barklie; Joe Bays, MFA; Andrew Borba, MFA; Jason Robert Brown; Tom Buderwitz; Anne Burk, MFA; Frank Catalano, MPW; Julian S. Cha, Ph.D.; Paula Cizmar; Jennifer Cool, Ph.D.; Anastasia Coon, MFA; Eugene Cordero; Debra DeLiso, MFA; Kathleen S. Dunn-Muzingo, MFA; Frank Dwyer, M.A.; Kirstin Eggers; Dan Fishbach; Laura Flanagan, MFA; Jeff Flowers, MFA; Parmer Fuller, Ph.D.; Terry Gordon, MFA; Andrew Henkes, Ph.D.; Elizabeth Hogan, MFA; Paula Holt, M.A.; Michael Keenan; Mary K Klinger; Shishir Kurup, MFA; Edgar Landa; Vicki Lewis; Helene Lorenz, Ph.D.; Heather Lyle, M.M.; Susan Main; Marjo-Riikka Makela, MFA; Babette Markus; Kevin McCorkle; Laural Meade, MFA; Lauren Murphy, MFA; Ntare Guma Mbaho Mwine, MFA; Shawn Nelson; Patrick Pankhurst; Leah Piehl, MFA; John Rubinstein; Mady Schutzman, Ph.D.; Colin Sieburgh; Ella Turenne, MSW; Laura Vena, MFA; Matt Walker; Julie Welch

Courtesy Joint Appointments: Thomas G. Cummings, Ph.D.; Larry E. Greiner, Ph.D.; Bruce Smith, Ph.D.

Emeritus Professors: Don Llewellyn Jr., MFA; Eve Roberts, MFA; Robert R. Scales, Ph.D.; James Wilson, MFA